Legal Discussion/ Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Legal Discussion/ Help

Hi All, as part of an initiative of taking a stand against questionable enforcement practices, I am starting this thread to provide advice from legal documentation for anyone. I hope that armed with a bit more legal info, it will give motorists out there a better chance when standing up against the Police.

I am basing my facts on 2 pieces of document I have come across in my research so far

1. The Road Traffic Act (WA) 1974 - with 2011 reprint
    2. The Road Traffic Code 2000
    Two heads are better than one and two wheels are better than four

As a start, I have been reading up on lane splitting and here is what I found... Hope it helps people in future - If there are anyone familiar with the law out there please feel free to contradict me - I am not a lawyer just a layman trying to make a difference.

With regards to lane splitting:
    RTC 2000 S127: 127.
    Moving from one marked lane to another marked lane across continuous line separating lanes
    (1) Where a portion of a road is divided longitudinally by single, continuous lines, into 2 or more lanes, a person shall not drive a vehicle across any of those lines.

RTC 2000 S129
    129. Driving on or across continuous white edge line
    (1) A driver must not drive on or over a continuous white edge line on a carriageway unless subregulation (2) or (3) applies to the driver.
    Modified penalty: 2 PU

I beleive that at TLC intersections - the most they can do you for is S129 which has no demerit points whereas S127 carries 2 points the fine is the same. I guess S127 applies on continuous whitelines on the freeway etc.

Hope this helps the motorists there to save some points when face with the PoPo out there.

Comment

Originally posted by fortmax7771 View Post
      I am starting this thread to provide advice from legal documentation for anyone.