Heels... or Balls?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heels... or Balls?

Ya know, I've been riding for about 5 years now. For the first year, I'd always ride with the heels (or arch) of my feet on the peg. Felt natural and comfortable to hook the heel of the boot on the peg and hang the feet off.

That is, until I heard of, then saw a friend's plight. This friend is in the States. A few years ago (2001, to be exact), he got himself a little oil-burning trail bike. Can't remember what it was now. He'd go riding on trails out in California with his girlfriend in tow on an ATV. Like me, he'd ride with arches on pegs, feet hanging off. So one day, they're riding up an old creek bed. As he's riding up, he rides past a big rock.

He cuts it a little fine.

The rock caught his toes. with his foot on the peg and his toes caught by the rock and with the bike's forward momentum, well... snapped all 5 bones in his foot about halfway up.

He was in a wheelchair for months after that and couldn't walk without pain for a couple of years.

I now ride with the balls of my feet on the pegs. It feels natural and comfortable with the added bonus of allowing me to shift my weight, or move my legs much easier. And, of course, much less chance of catching any stray debris that mighe want to rip my foot off.

So. Are you a heel person or a ball person?
    Originally posted by http://www.textsfromlastnight.com
    (626): I'm trying this new thing, it's called standards

Balls!

*cough* toes even. I have small feet and they fit just nice on the peg. Good for cruising, pain in the bum when going down gears, have to move my foot forward. (so lazy!)

Comment

If your racing it's always balls of your feet, otherwise it's personal prefrance ... I do both ....
      Dale Britton MotorCycles: 5/115
      Albany Hwy, Vic Park, Ph: 9470-1234 ...

Kim Britton Kawasaki: 91 Dixon Rd, Rockingham, Ph: 9592-1113 ...

Comment

Balls, always
        <div align="center">