How long do 250cc tyres last?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How long do 250cc tyres last?

Just costing up how much I should be putting aside for things like tyres on a 250cc that will be used as a commuter bike with some weekend riding in the hills (weather permitting)

How long would one expect a set of semi-soft tyres to last with a 100kg rider on the bike, mostly k's put on around town? Is 15,000 unreasonable for a back, and 20,000km for the front?

You dont need soft tyres!!!, just get the hard ones, they last longer!!!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by letus@Jan 16 2006, 08:26 PM
      You dont need soft tyres!!!, just get the hard ones, they last longer!!!!!!
      [snapback]215590[/snapback]
      Hence the semi-soft. I still want ones that are a little forgiving should I have an error in judgement when setting my speed for a turn.

Comment

I'm no expert on the subject, but I'd say 20 thousand kays on a tyre is asking a bit much.

Comment

In TurboR1's thread about the Pilot Powers, people were getting ~10,000k's on what I assume to be a pretty soft compound tyre, so I assume that a harder compound tyre could get close to 20,000km's ???I've got a battleaxes on mine, they're *I believe* a trade off between softer compound and hard compound tyres, they're harder compound in the middle, (good for commuting) and softer compound on the sides for a bit of better cornering performance.

Also I believe your front tyre will wear faster than your rear.

(Some one correct my ass)

Comment

so long as you aren't going round doing burnouts all the time, i can't see why 15k is unreasonable. the michy pilot sport rear on my zx12 is just clocking up 16k, which is pretty shameful really, but i haven't really had the situation to give it too much shit.
            "I think she's kinda sweet...but she makes her living catching cum in her mouth and i'm sensing that's a problem with you"

Comment