Headphones while riding?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Headphones while riding?

Just wondering if many people on here wear them while riding or what the general opinion on them is?

I used them today for the first time in years. I needed to get to a bike shop after work to pick up some lube for the chain but I didnt know how to get there. So I slipped my iphone into the clear pocket on my tank bag and plugged my earphones in and used the sat nav on it to get to the bike shop. It was ok as I could hear the directions clearly but probably a bit too loud but I couldnt adjust that while I was riding so should have tested the volume first before riding.

After I picked up what i needed in the bike shop I started playing songs on the iphone and then activated the sat nav to get me home. Tested the volume this time and off I went. I thought It was pretty good , hard to hear at motorway speeds and it was a bit distracting cos I started singing and wasnt as observant of what was going on behind and to the sides of me as I normally would so not sure if I will be wearing them again for a while. But I think this would probably be different if you were listening to the radio on them or something instead?

The other thing I noticed is that it is really easy to forget you have them on so when your getting off your bike and if they are plugged into your tank bag dont forget to take them off instead of getting whiplash like me!

But be warned, this happened to me straight away after using them! lol
    Funny motorcycle guy we saw! - YouTube

I'm not a fan, I have used them on long trips...

Comment

I use the iPhone head phones that have the volume adjuster and mic in it so you can change your songs by voice command and turn the volume up and down. I only ever have it down low making sure that I can still here everything around me and only when going for a decent ride.

Comment

tried it on the bike... not a fan.