Pillion practice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pillion practice?

so i have been riding for about 4 months now and now feel comfortable enough to start taking a pillion, i was just wonderin if there was anyway that you could practice without having anyne on the pillion seat. i know how the CoG will change and that accelleration and performace will be affected. but i would just like to know what its like before somene jumps on te back.

cheers alex
    sigpic
    Its so small

http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...e_view&id=9156

I dont know how you can simulate taking a pillion, but when you take your first pillion, make sure its someone who'll trust your riding, and wont move around. The worst part is trying to turn, and the pillion is leaning the other way. The whole dynamics of the bike change. Also, take the gear changes as smooth as possible otherwise you'll end up knocking helmets like i constantly did lol.

Comment

braking is heavily affected. Depending on the bike a lot more forces will be thrown forward when you hit the brakes.

You want to work on making your gear changes extremely smooth.

make sure your pillions protective clothing is a standard that you would wear on the bike.

Sort out your signals for stop, slowdown before you go anywhere as it will be hard to hear them yelling over the engine. They need to know that they should not be moving around, especially at slower speeds.

Practive in a large carpark first off

Comment

Find yourself an EXPERIENCED pillion, that way at least one of you has experience with 2 on a bike.
        Feed 'em to the pigs, Errol....

Comment