Overcharged for Service?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overcharged for Service?

Hey, just got the call to say my baby is ready after the 42,000K service at the Yamaha Gge in joondalup. only problem is the cost is over $900 when i was expecting 4-500 and have only been quoted along those lines up to now. when i dropped it off, the bloke said he'd give me a call if he found anything more that could be done so i knew about the cost. which he never did. the extra cost was because of the valve clearances it turns out. but still, im worried im being taken for a ride, still being a newb on 2 wheels. am I being ripped off? if so is there anything i can do about it. either way I'm leaving right now to pick it up, cos i need it for this evening. so im gonna have to pay em.

advice?

I'm no expert in the field, but it seems a bit rich, my babyblade had a major service at 64K and the mechanic quoted around $300-$350....inc valve clearence if needed (it didnt)...i have noticed when chopping around for gear that they have higher prices and limited knowledge....they didnt know what make my bike was then told me HJC dont make breath guards anymore and then proceeded to charge me $30 for an oxford breath guard that didn't suit my helmet. I went to total MC in vic park and got the HJC one for $15.

Comment

find out how many shims where required and you want the old shims because that sounds like total bullshit, and the fact they failed to tell you before hand. If they have to search for them its bullshit. the shims would be used in another bike so if they want to charge you that much get all the old shims.
      Atlas Performance, dyna pumps, " your name goes here"

Comment

MMMM note to self to go back on the tools Its expensive but depending on the bike it does take time to pull the cams out and do this. They should have rung first if they need to do this after they checked the clearances and found them to be out.

MM

Comment

Sounds like a stitch.