Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Motoguzzis, is the gyroscope thing true?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motoguzzis, is the gyroscope thing true?

Guzzis are dead sexy but everytime I bring it up I get laughed at (which makes me like them more), and someone always pipes up and says the config means its hard to lean in one direction round corners, due to a gyroscopic effect. Is there any truth to this?
    the universe is hostile

Yes, just sit on one and rev it.

Comment

I'm no expert but I would have to say that it isn't the gyroscopic forces that are the problem however, there is a noticable quirkiness that arises from engines that have their crankshaft parallel to the direction of travel rather than across the bike. It obviously isn't that much of a problem because Goldwings, Rocket3s, BMW boxers, and Guzzi V-twins are still made. It comes in to play when you change engine revs, up or down, as the engine revs up it will want to twist in one direction and as you decellerate it will want to twist in the other direction. You will probably notice it most if you rev it quickly, such as at the lights with the clutch in, you will feel the bike lean one way but not enough to knock you over. I've only ridden one Guzzi and found it no problem whatsoever, barely noticeable. I think most people steer away from Guzzi's because they don't give you as many hp for your dollar, but its not always about horses is it. Incidentally, you might be able to notice the same twisting effect if you rev a car quickly at a standstill. Go the Guzzi if that is your love.

Comment

Funny - never noticed it on the ST1100 which is (I believe) pretty similar as a shaft driven transverse V configuration...
        "Once upon a time we would obey in public, but in private we would be cynical; today, we announce cynicism, but in private we obey."

Comment

Originally posted by Captain Starfish View Post