This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• splittin' the lanes, legal?

Ok, so I'm new to OZ and confused about this one. I've asked a few guys that I've met about splitting the lane cause i see it done all the time, and every time i've asked (like a handful of times, i'm not gonna do a poll here) they've said it's illegal to split the lane.

Reading some posts on PSB, some say it's legal or not illegal.

I've looked up the WA road guide and it doesn't mention it, so it's ambiguous to me (or i just haven't spotted it yet)

What's the verdict? Yah or nay?

CW

definately illegal to lanesplit in a car.

Comment

I ask cause in N. America, depending on which state or province your in, the rules are DIFFERENT. Cali and a few other you can split the lane legally, other u can't. What's wrong with just knowing?

Comment

Search, splitting has been done to death.... that said, i have and will continue to split/filter past cops and havent been pinged yet.
        “Crashing is shit for you, shit for the bike, shit for the mechanics and shit for the set-up,” Checa told me a while back. “It’s a signal that you are heading in the wrong direction. You want to win but crashing is the opposite. It’s like being in France when you want to go to England and when you crash you go to Spain. That way you’ll never get to England!” -- Carlos Checa

Comment

Because you'll get a different answer depending on who answers you. And it's been asked a number of times. Search for lanesplitting and you'll see what I mean.

Basically - It can be legal or illegal. If done correctly it is legal but most of the time it is done illegally.

Splitting stationary traffic; indicating every time you cross the dotted line and never crossing the solid white lines (including with your foot etc while stationary) is legal.

Splitting moving traffic, or breaking any of the above is illegal.
          "Look wise guy, I know I'm a racer, I can feel it in my code."

Comment