PSB Roadcraft classroom.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PSB Roadcraft classroom.

So motorcyclists are dieing on our roads and some very knowledgeable people on this forum have buckets of wisdom they can share to help keep us younger guys alive.

I can't add much to the conversation so this is basically a request for the more experienced guys on the forum to address issues they see with younger riders.

Ask questions in here without being ridiculed.

Hey the thread will probably die but meh.

Some statistics:
    • More than 26% of all motorcycle accidents involve riders with less than one year's experience.
    • Ninety-two percent of riders involved in reportable accidents are untrained (i.e. they were self-taught or learned from friends or family).
    • Motorcycle riders between the ages of 16 and 24 are significantly over-represented in accidents.
    • Twelve percent of ALL motorcycle accidents involve alcohol, but HALF of all the FATAL motorcycle accidents show ALCOHOL involvement..

THE S I P D E TECHNIQUE
    Scan, Identify, Predict, Decide, Execute--the mental process suggested by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.
    • SCAN--Always be looking. Your eyes should follow a rotational pattern including mirrors, controls, and the road ahead. Scan for potential hazards as well as opportunities.
    • IDENTIFY--Identify the situation ahead. Hazard or opportunity? Vehicle, pedestrian, animal, or stationary object? Each category presents its own challenge to the motorcyclist.
    • PREDICT--Anticipate the hazard or opportunity. What will be the situation by the time you get to it? Predict what might happen and visualize escape routes. This is the part of SIPDE that depends most upon your knowledge and experience.