Insurance!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insurance!

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this forum. I've met a couple of you out on the road but only been riding 4 or 5 months.

I'd just like to comment on this quote from SGIO this morning. I currently ride a '95 600 fireblade with no insurance. I rang SGIO and told them my details - male, no previous claims, had my license for two years, 20 yrs old, and said I want full comp on a new '03 blade. The answer was rediculous. (You cant even get fire + theft if the bike's worth more than 5k) Anyway..

The voice on the other end of the phone was hesitant to even tell me the numbers his computer was displaying. He told me there would be an excess of $250, plus $600 because of my age.. (fair enough I guess) and $6,800 per year. Ha ha, he even put me on hold for five minutes to ask his supervisor why it is so expensive. I dont know how the other insurance agency's match up to our friends at SGIO, I guess I'll be making a few calls just to find out if it is at all plausible for a 20 yr old to have insurance on a decent bike.

I'll post some more details if anybody seems interested. This whole bike insurance thing is new to me, I know most of you guys have probably gone through all the rigmarole already.

Going off on a tangent here, I saw a post earlier regarding the 04 "blade" (or is it gonna be the "rcb 1000"?) coming out in September. Does that mean here in WA September or does that mean like, Japan/US September? Any more recent news?

mat
    mmmmm sacrilicious

hey mastrmage,

i got similar response from our friendly SGIO insurer.

I found best price from Swann insurance, just go into your local bike shop

..... (or see pete at Causeway Honda and tell him P.E. sent ya......)

and they should be able to sort u out. Theyre the cheapest and the friendliest as far as two wheels are concerned. Unfortunately its still gunna be 1-2k cos of ur age, anyhow good luck with it.

Comment