Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off the line

G'day,
    I've been riding for a few years now. I'm fairly quick through the corners, but shit off the line. I ride an 05 R6 so it's not a slow bike.

What i'm after is a bit of advice. How do I improve my acceleration of the line at the lights? I can beat any car, but bikes which I reckon I can/should beat, get off the line faster than me. It's not until I get up round 8,000-10,000rpm that my bike show's what it's capable of and then it keeps on pulling though the gears. But it's those first 3-5sec that are killing me.

Any advice appreciated.

Yak.
    "When you have a lifestyle to maintain, health is a secondary priority"

woop arse wednesdays starting sept 2 at Kwinana motorplex $40 .best and safest way to learn ,youll have a ball

Comment

Yeah "Rock Hard", I'm keen to do the drags, but only as long at it's not a dick measuring contest.

If i go then I want to learn how to get faster off the line. Not just go out there, talk to no one and not learn anything.

Yak

Comment

Slip the clutch more. A good launch u should be sitting at about 10,000rpm and slip the clutch so you can feel the front wheel struggling to stay on the ground, once it feels right let the clutch right out and go through the gears. So basically what im getting at is, you should hear a flat sound in the rpm (not getting higher or lower) until you get up to speed.
        ZippySig.com

Comment

As one of the most regular riders of an R1 that I know, quoting TurboR1 seems somehow appropriate - "Think of the clutch as a consumable."

For me, adjusting to the R1 from the Gix needed exactly that. The R1 needs revs, and plenty of them. Slip that fucker like nothing else (but be smooth with it) and you'll launch fine.
          2006 Yamaha R1SP;