Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Be a good Pillion to New/Different Riders

Hello PSB,
    I thought I'd start up a thread on an actual motorbike topic! (gasp)
    I've been riding pillion for about 5 years now (even longer I think) on a few different bikes from Cafe Racers, to Cruisers to Sports Bikes and Tourers....
    I've been on with people with little to no pillion experience and found sometimes good ways to make them comfortable- along with yourself!
    The majority of people I ride with have pillion experience...but I've been on a few bikes with people that've only been solo.

First thing to do is to always make sure you feel comfortable with the rider first, don't go jumping on Jim-Bob or Mary-Ellen's bike at the drop of the hat. If your not comfortable... get off.
    Next thing to do is to try and mimic the riders position whilst being comfortable yourself (So you don't move around) this will be the best thing for the rider and most of the time- best for you so you get a nice wind-breaker in front of you
    Try and make sure you don't move around too much.... and don't go leaning into corners with the rider...just stay in the same position. (until you get confident- then do what you want...)
    Keep your hands on their waist, hips, wrapped around tummy, even tucking your hands under they're belt is good enough (Belt position is also good for lane filtering- when I've lost my feet of the pegs when I first started!)- so they know your there! (They won't feel you there if your a good pillion!)
    Another thing is not to put your weight on the rider if they're braking. I used to brace myself using the riders lower back on his sports bike because of my position- but it killed his arms! If this is the case- try and use the pillion bars if the bike has them, or your legs if you can.