How to check if fuel pump broken? gt250r

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to check if fuel pump broken? gt250r

My gt250r has been stalling randomly when i'm coming to stop a bit in the last couple of days.. I put it down to hot days and the fact that oil cooled bikes don't always cool themselves the best on them, however on my way home today the bikes engine cut out with electrics still working fine, no warning lights or anything, just no fuel obviously getting to the engine. When I start the bike up what I assume is the fuel pump (This is my first bike so i'm no expert on them) makes quiet a loud buzz but I figured that was normal since a lot of car fuel pumps do that too. It is still making the buzz but the bike has had plenty of time to cool down (including while I walked it 500 meters to my house since it wouldn't start) but the starter motor just turns over and absolutely nothing else happens. Have tried disconnecting the battery and reconnecting it just incase that would reset it if it was something electrical with no luck. Also bike doesn't seem to have been accelerating as good as it used to for the last couple of days while it's been stalling.

Do you ever touch the starter button before the fuel pump has fully primed and the tacho sweep finished?
    or touch the throttle before the engine has resumed normal idle speed on startup?

Its a long shot, but its very common on people with their first fuel injected bike, especially affecting single and twin cyl bikes.

I solved the 'cbr250 stalling, lets call the lawyers' phenomenon once I saw vids of their starting procedure, mashing the throttle within seconds of turning the key on.
    many never admitted it but never posted the problem again.

Comment

Originally posted by Aufitt View Post
      Do you ever touch the starter button before the fuel pump has fully primed and the tacho sweep finished?
      or touch the throttle before the engine has resumed normal idle speed on startup?