Batteries: are they all the same?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Batteries: are they all the same?

Long story short, the battery on my bike seems to be on the way out. At rest it's putting out 12v, Drops to about 11 when I turn the key (lights on) and drops a little lower when starting the bike. I left it off charge for a week and when I went to start the bike the lights where a little dim but it started. I tested the battery after stopping the bike after letting it idle for a little and it seemed fine and tested ok with the multimeter and started fine.

Forgive the noobish questions, I'm only new to riding. Are all bike batteries the same and is there a standard size (dimension wise) for them? Or will I need a spicific size battery for my bike?

ive got a 2012 GS500F with 1400k's on it, I'm certain the battery is the one it rolled out of the factory with. When I bought the bike it was flat from lack of use and needed jump starting. Since then I've been using the bike weekly and leaving it on a charger (battery fighter) to keep it topped up.

Thanks in advance.

Take the battery out and take it into Battery World or a Suzuki Dealership. Though it does sound like the Battery has dropped a cell, they can load test the battery and see if it really is cactus. If you're ever up in the northern burbs go to Challenge Batteries in Osborne Park.

The answer to your question is no, motorcycle batteries are not all the same, motorcycle batteries come in different sizes. A bigger bike will have a larger battery than a 250.

Comment