1991 kawasaki zr550 , retro street fighter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1991 kawasaki zr550 , retro street fighter

Hey guys , seeing as im all broken into pieces atm i now have the time to start sourcing the parts i need to start my project . was always going to be a project but since binning it i have to start a little sooner lol

First things first , anyone on here who is experienced with these bikes ?

I really hope to fit the larger motor to this frame , does the 900 fit ?

can i fit a wider rear rim ? hoping that the z900 had a larger rim that would fit .

I have plenty of ideas atm so am deciding on a plan of attack . Not sure if i want a retro streetfighter look or cafe racer .

I am a welder/fabricator ( dont have access to a lathe though sadly ) . First mod will be to raise the rear to improve the stance , can modify the frame to suit , then drop the front .
    will lower the front headlight assembly . may custom make a set of stainless handle bars .
    Will build a flash custom exhaust system too , something that exits high up .

will remove the foot peg assembly and custom make a set of adjustable rear sets for just the rider , no pillion .

will reshape the seat into a single . rear body styling will stay as i love the lines but tank may get changed , depends what fits

would love to extend the rear swing arm but thats a bit beyond what i can do at home .

as i heal i will update and get some pics on here ^_^

kermit
    Last edited by kermit; 09-08-2010, 07:02 PM.