Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the world of bike maintanence

Hi All,

So i just got my bike a week ago and already i am starting to prepare for my first service ^^. Just a bit of backround info.

It's a Honda cbr250r 2011 with 350km on the clock.

Now the previous owner lost the owners manual (asking his mum to look for it since i know her) and i was just going to print one off but i also asked him if he has done any servicing on it before.

I was searching on the net for what people think the service schedule should be and i got such a range from... at 50km change the oil to change it at 1000km and also get the valve clearance done.

Also i read that you should only use non synthetic oil for the first 4 oil changes or so due to running in etc etc.

My main thing up until the last week has been cars so i am a bit new to the whole motorcycle servicing but just like cars i am eager to learn. If anyone could help me out to clear the air it would be greatly appreciated.

Speaking of air... i have checked the air filter and noticed there was really only a bit of dog hair on the outside of it but the previous owner said he did go on some real dusty roads. Are these able to be cleaned or is it better to just replace it later on . I did the light test and you can still see through easy as.

Thanks in advance guys and girls.

P.S if this is in the wrong section mods can you please move.

Wogboy1994

Owner's manual: http://ridertua.files.wordpress.com/...-32kyje000.pdf

How to do an oil change: DIY Oil Change - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums

Service manual: http://kickass.to/honda-cbr250r-cbr-...-t7623154.html

Comment

If your bike hasnt had the 1000km valve clearances done you'll have to get it done (not a job for the inexperienced, and anywhere from $180-280 depending on labour charges.)

Lucky i'd written a guide years ago (yet ham fisted muppets still keep stripping the filter housing)

Rocket Science-