Metallic paints...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Metallic paints...

How hard is it to spray metallic paints yourself if you have access to a compressor and spray booth?
    Much harder than solid/candy colours?

Can it be done in a day (say in 6 parts - 5x fairings/guards and a tank)?

I'm thinking of doing the viffer in silver if it doesn't sell...

pretty sure doing it in one day isnt a good idea, i think you want some time between clearcoats
    If cleanliness is next to godliness, why was jesus a dirty sandal-wearing beardo?

Comment

Could it be done in 2 sittings then?

One week for paint, then let it dry.
      A week (or two) later, put on stickers and do clearcoat?

Comment

What about primers, and cutting back, and polishing and all the other prep/finishing work that happens. I'm no expert, but there's alot more to it than picking up a spraygun.
        For LAMS information and resources - http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...thread-156358/
        For LAMS discussion and to ask questions - http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...thread-143289/

Comment

Yah I've been sanding back race glass. fuck it's a lot of work.

Comment

you going to use 2pak or acrylic ?....either way you can do it in a day....if you've done the prep beforehand

Comment

Depends what you are painting it with, two pack or acrylic, then it depends what sort of two pack, just a hi-gloss on its own or base coat and clear coat
              If using acrylic with clear over, and you want the stickers under the clear coat, i would spray color, leave for a week, face back with 1200 wet put stickers on and clear it, then leave it for a week and cut/polish it. If using two pack, and you happen to have a spray booth/oven base coat and clear over can all be done in a couple of hours.