Brake fluid recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brake fluid recommendations

I'm looking at fitting braided lines to the R1 next weekend.
    I did a couple of searches and found some great how-to threads.
    From these I'm guessing DOT 4 or 5.1 is the way to go...but I didn't find anything on brands, any recommended brands?
    I use the bike for commuting mostly, and try to squeeze in a trakdayz or tuning session 1ce a month, but don't work the brakes too hard.
    Any suggestions would be great.
    Cheers
    -JC-

Motul 5.1 = good stuff
    Increasing my carbon footprint - one 500 @ a time...

Comment

I'm not an expert, but I believe that any "brand" should be fine - if brand X complies with DOT rating Y, it can handle ZZZ degrees C before boiling.

There's not really a lot else for it to be measured by?

Just go for DOT 5.1, it can handle higher temps, and the cost of brake fluid is pretty cheap really...
      “Crashing is shit for you, shit for the bike, shit for the mechanics and shit for the set-up,” Checa told me a while back. “It’s a signal that you are heading in the wrong direction. You want to win but crashing is the opposite. It’s like being in France when you want to go to England and when you crash you go to Spain. That way you’ll never get to England!” -- Carlos Checa

Comment

Dot 5.1 is usally silicone based it does howeve have one drawback it doesn't absorb miosture. So under high temp the miosture turns to steam and you end up with effectivly air in the system. Not a problem if you have a race bike and change the fluid every other meet. If its a road bike where you might change the fuild once every now and then (ideally should be 6months/10 000kms whichever comes first) dot four mineral based stuff is better as it will absorb the miosture it does however become contaminated over time.