Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 05 ZX10R Rebuild

Hey all,

I'm getting in early to start getting ideas/understanding of what needs to be done/bought/costs.

I'm looking to probably rebuild my motor and gearbox in the next year.
    Although there is nothing major wrong with my engine currently, I'm of the opinion she's getting a little tired.
    Probably looking at beefing it out as well, maybe get some more HP running through it.

Anyone have any parts websites they can recommend?
    places to use etc?

possibly looking at doing some/most of the work myself or with mates when it happens.
    Any help/information would be appreciated.

Cheers!

I'm no expert, but step 1 should be a compression test, to see if the rings etc are still ok
    For LAMS information and resources - http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...thread-156358/
    For LAMS discussion and to ask questions - http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...thread-143289/

Comment

Already been done, comp is down.

Comment

ZX-10 Turbo Kit - This should beef it up a bit ^_^

Comment

High compression pistons from yoshimura,
          whatever piston rings they suggest,
          thinner head gasket,

get your valve springs checked for wear, if they're ok get them shimmed and
          if you can afford it a stage 1 cam

Comment

It will be an expensive project. Personally, I wouldn't have thought it was worth it unless the engine is pretty much rooted?

I suppose new cams, rings+resleeve and a thinner head gasket would be a good place to start for engine mods. You may even try Kawasaki, I'm not sure, but they might sells parts intended to convert stock thou's to superbike spec.

Anyway, good luck with it.

Comment

Ben - would love to slap a turbo on there haha

Cheers lee, will look into those pistons.