Spray painting advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spray painting advice

Doing some spray painting at work this week. Now, I'm not a professional painter, but I can usually get some alright results. Problem I've got is the paint is 'orange peeling' and I don't know whats causing it. Have I set the gun up wrong? Wrong pressure? Wrong techinque? I don't know.

Someone wanna explain how to get a nice finish on the job, please?
    A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin.

Dear god, it's some weird bastardized three wheeled two person go-kart.

too cold what you are painting or where you are painting needs to be warmer

Comment

That would explain it. I normally have to chase the penguins out of the hangar before I start work in the morning. So if was to pre-heat the job with some heat lamps, it should smooth out then?

Comment

Maybe the penguins are leaving oil on the surface of the piece you're spraying?
        For LAMS information and resources - http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...thread-156358/
        For LAMS discussion and to ask questions - http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...thread-143289/

Comment

No, its not fish-eyeing. The surfaces are sanded, tack-clothed and chemically cleaned before paint application.

I thought that initially, but a water-bead test ruled that theory out.

Comment

Is its 2pac or acrylic?

Originally posted by t bone View Post
            too cold what you are painting or where you are painting needs to be warmer
            I'm not 100% sure for acrylic but i know for 2pac you have that the wrong way round. If its to cold the thinners takes longer to evaporate and this allows the paint to flow out flatter, but can also lead to runs and sags in the paint.
            Ideal spray temp is about 24-25deg plus the surface you are painting shouldnt be cold to touch. If its metal ur spraying and its real cold try warming the panel up a bit with a heat gun.