Wheel Polishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wheel Polishing

Hey dood's...this is my first attempt at wheel polishing... thought i could save myself $500 i havent quite finished yet.....just need to buff it now...as you can see a small part on the bottom has had a quick buff...what ya think? or should i cut my losses now and take em to a pro?

it dont look to bad

how u get it this far budda?
    Love
    Nick :twisted:

Comment

Well.....1st things 1st...you remove the wheel.....to make things easier....remove the tyre too (good mod to do in between fittin new tyres) Then depending on what you wanna do (i wanted to remove ALL paint) i attacked it with selly's quick strip paint stripper....nasty shit...works very well....DO NO bget it on yer skin...wear yer PPE... once you removed a mojority of the paint (a wire brush can help alot) then wash it down with water to remove paint and stripper.... then just go over the wheel with wet-and-dry sandpaper (while wet, works better) start with a coarse grade.....and work your way into a finer grade to iron out the scratches... take a while...but you see result very soon..... then once you down to something like a 600 grade sandpaper....then its prolly time to buff.... i just have a drill with a buffing wheel attachment... not the best for gettin into hard places....but should be ok for now..... you'll have to invest in a bit of autosol...works wonder's in bringing the rim to a shine...you'll have to use a bit during the buffin process.... and before long...WWAALLAAHH!! the more time you spend on it...the better the results.....dont rush it...otherwise it'll just come out crap....its prolly taken me in all around 2-3.5hours to get this far.....with prolly another hour to go or so..... but then again this is my first time now i just gotta start the front wheel :cry:

Comment