No announcement yet.

Thoughts on Motard as a starting point?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts on Motard as a starting point?

Hi all,
    I am just starting out with motorcycles and want to build a good foundation in skills while I work my way towards an unrestricted license.
    I am thinking about getting a LAMS motard for my first bike.

What do you old hands think of this?

Will it be a good place to start getting a feel for what the bike is doing underneath me and how it reacts to my actions?

Cheers

Short answer: yes
    Long answer: yes

Comment

Yes...

Light, flickable and forgiving...

Wheelies, stoppies and slides...

Comment

Also - Motards are built tough when compared to a conventional street bike.
        Can take a few knocks without having to fork out (or claim) for fairings/paint jobs.

S.
        Chuck Norris is 1/8th Cherokee. This has nothing to do with ancestry, the man ate a fucking Indian.

Comment

D. All of the above

Comment

The only down side is that some are fairly high maintenance, the same as the enduro equivalents. Other than that go for it.

Comment

Whut [MENTION=11235]Kristy[/MENTION] said.

Yes.
              Originally posted by Desmo
              Why be a cunt about it?

Comment

No, get a proper dirtbike

and go crash it on road trail tyres in the first bit of gravel or sand.

Comment

drz400sm or convert drz400e

This is a perfect baby motard for beginner. I am considering getting one myself and keep it even after obtaining full licence.

Comment

Originally posted by ddrtom View Post
                    drz400sm or convert drz400e

This is a perfect baby motard for beginner. I am considering getting one myself and keep it even after obtaining full licence.
                    I tend to agree. For a first bike a WR250X, 400SM or 400E convert is a great choice.
                    Why be a cunt about it?

Comment

Originally posted by Commander Keen View Post