Noob questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob questions

After a long break from my first ever lesson which I didn't feel I did that well at, I've had a nice long lesson with Glen from Alert this morning which went really well. After being able to get a better feel for riding and feeling more confident, I can safely say that I want to get a bike. There are a few things that I'm not sure about though, and felt some planning was necessary.

I've currently got a car worth $3k that I could sell to buy a bike. As I'm a uni student, I don't think I'll be able to afford both, but I'm not sure if it's a good idea to rely solely on a bike. For what reasons would I want to keep a car as a backup to a bike? The only thing I can think of is extreme weather, grocery shopping and going out (wouldn't want to be carrying helmet and wearing kevlar jeans etc.).

I'm also curious about what kind of things I can expect to pay for before I buy the bike and while I own it. So far I've thought of these items for before I buy the bike:
    • Helmet (~$900)
    • Gloves (~$100)
    • Jacket (~$300)
    • Boots (~$500)
    • Jeans (~$250)

And these for while I own it:
    • Registration
    • Fuel
    • Services
    • Insurance

Am I missing anything?

The question about keeping the car has more to do with the fact that I plan on buying all the safety gear in the first list which will cost around $2000 - and that's before I even own the bike.

Can anyone who has been in a similar situation or with some experience offer some advice?

Cheers.
    Originally posted by redfern
    If its good enough to carry missiles is safe enough for you bike.