NWTK, working / living in NZ

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NWTK, working / living in NZ

Ive been umming and arhing over it for a few years, now with uni finished its a real possiblity. Anyone been there and done that over there?

For me the plus's are.

houses cost a fair bit less
    great food
    great roads
    ability to easily import bikes
    owning a bit of property that doesnt cost a arm and a leg

some neg's
    things for general living can cost more, but its not like WA is a cheap place to live anymore
    lower salary.
    wifes doesnt like the cold weather
    its full off kiwi's :-)

Really though whats the salary conversion from here to there, say 100k here, would the same job pay the same over there in NZ dollars. appears theres a few oil and gas/ mining jobs over there.

I figure a environmental job over there would be good, more enviro switched on population, sell house here and be able to pocket $100,000 to $200,000 from house sale, its not like my family are big consumers, a car and bike, some property to grow our own food, and i would'nt mind building a eco house on the side of a hill with some killer views.

Any feedback much appreciated

Depends where in NZ you want to move - anywhere other than Auckland will be just a sleepy little town, even in comparison to Perth.

I just got back from a few days over in Christchurch at career expos trying to recruit engineers - I would say probably 4/5 all expressed interest in moving over to Australia - they are all trying to get out and work appears to be a bit scarce post-earthquake, although the North Island has a fair bit more going on I hear.

Other positives include:
    -cheap snow trips
    -more relaxed laws and less PC attitudes
    -better scenery
    -better outdoor sporting scene (snow, hang-gliding, hiking, sailing etc)