Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CWTK: Changing uni and changing course

Hey guys,

I've had an absolutely shocking year academic wise, I lost the passion in what I'm studying (electrical eng) and so everything has slipped downhill from there. This semester won't be any different and will definitely be apparent in my results. Basically, I don't have the same interest in electrical engineering as I did before I did core units. I've always wanted to do mechanical engineering but Murdoch doesn't offer it.

Would it be easy for me to switch to Curtin, for example, and pick up Mech engineering with credit to previous units? Is there a reason why I should stick to electrical over mechanical?

Does a terrible year mean a lot to future employers? This year I've basically been finding out what I've really wanted to do in life. I've been working in the mean time and while I had my 'dream job' (pet store), it made me realise that in the end there isn't much to it above and beyond, unfortunately I found out far too late in the semester to pick things up. And only now being in the middle of exams has it really started to hit me.

I'm interested in stories and personal experience of who has been in the same boat. I.e., Had a rocky stat to uni and ended up doing a big sea change to what they actually enjoyed.

Cheers,

edit: should probably add I'm in second year

If you have passed two subjects at any aussie uni, you can easily switch over. (ive been to three different unis and studied firstly murdoch power, curtin mech and finally deakin civil)

employees (unless your going for high tier chevron etc) jobs don't mind about your score as long as you pass.

keep in mind for honours (your engineering for instance)

1st year, 10%
    2nd year, 20%
    3rd year, 30%
    4th year, 40%

then you get a grade based on your % pass and iirc 65%? is honours 2nd class, 75%is honours 1st class

dont stress man, life happens

TLR

it all matters about your first job