Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Got offered a job at the mines - advice please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got offered a job at the mines - advice please!

Hello PSB,

How are you? I have a massive decision to make and I know a lot of people on here are involved in the mining industry so I was hoping to get a little advice.

I currently work full-time as an operations manager at a call centre, I deal mainly with managing the network and information systems as well as managing the telephony side of things and dealing with clients and managing a few staff. I've been here for 5 years, the only step up is General Manager and no thanks. Bit sick of working at a desk and looking for a change and some extra dollars. Please keep in mind I've learnt everything at this job on the job, looking at further education but don't have the time at the moment, so no quals in this industry anyway other than 5 years experience here.

On Monday night I was given the opportunity to work for a mining company (forgot the name but I have the number and a contact there), the description of the job was "pulling rods". I have no idea what that means and didn't ask cause I was smashed. It's 4 weeks on, 2 off and pay is $300-$350 a day.

What I like is the idea of having a whole 2 weeks to myself every 4, I have no problem doing hard physical work, in fact I welcome it. This desk job is giving me the chubbies. I also get close to double my current income which means I will be able to afford flying lessons again and will have time to go ahead and get my license. A friend told me to make sure I have a goal and stick to it, so the pilot's license is the goal, and to pay off a few debts.

So what are these jobs like and is the switch a good idea? Any advice is greatly appreciated
    Originally posted by Koola
    Someone sig this.

You're stagnating and want a change, and somebody is offering you double the pay to do exactly that?