Rigs vs Mines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rigs vs Mines

I've been debating with myself for a while, I want a career change, I'm sick of sitting in my arse in a office twinkling away on a keyboard all day. Wan't something physical.

So it's come down to Rigs vs mines, I've got some good contact in the rigs and and considering it more then then mines. The only thing that is putting me off a little is living so far away from my family. So what are the Pro's and Con's of both for people that have worked there?

What are your qualifications?

You'll earn more on a rig if you're unskilled.

Comment

keep debating it with yourself!! till you are sure and keep working on your contacts and Qualifications.

Comment

I'm a network engineer, so no relevant qualifications. I've had a few TAFE courses recommended to me that will liken my chances at getting a job on a rig.

Comment

Get your HUET ticket if thinking about working on a rig.

Jobs shouldn't be that hard to get, a few of my mates have got rig jobs simply by phoning the company every day for a month and hassling them. They give in eventually.

Comment

Theres now a "green hand" type course on offer that seems like it will be a pre-requisite to getting offshore NWS. I know that ERGT were running trial courses to iron out the content, duration, etc, lately but not sure if this is all go now. There will also be an option to include your BOSIET (helicopter survival). Drop them a call to work out the cost if self funding. Grab a seat though before you call......
            User contains traces of nuts.

Comment

Rigs:

If it fucks up, you will die.
              Better Swing, 2 on 2 off, then after 3rd swing 6 off. WTF slack asses
              100% Dry
              100% Non Smoking
              No Mobile phones.
              Limited net access.
              Cramped 4 to a room.
              People are niceer becase they have to get along in close proximity.