Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rant - Why dont drink drivers cop the same car/bike crushing as hoons????

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rant - Why dont drink drivers cop the same car/bike crushing as hoons????

Ok I was watching the Project a few nights ago and they were talking about the constant stream of repeat offenders when it comes to drink driving
    and it got me thinking. If the hoons get their cars confiscated and impounded and eventually crushed if they dont get the hint then why not
    the drink drivers??

Hell I nearly got killed back in 96 by a guy who ran a red light ON HIS WAY TO THE PUB. My partner at the time was pillion and she was
    killed so image how much worse damage he could have done driving home from the pub half cut??? Maybe 2 lives would have been taken.

Dont get me wrong I'm an enthusiastic driver/rider but I do my best to stay out of the hoon bracket and keep my wild side for track days.
    I understand hooning is dangerous and I'm not condoning it in anyway I just think most hoons are only a danger to themselves where as the
    drink drivers are out there killing other people. The office of road safety states that Drink driving contributes to over 30% of fatal road crashes.
    Office Of Road Safety - Drink Driving - You Deserve It
    Take their cars off them then. Yes they lose their license and cop heavy fines but if their car is sitting in their driveway whats to stop them doing it
    again? And yes their cars get impounded if they are caught driving under suspension but thats only if they get caught in the act. If a hoon gets their
    car taken off them right away for being a danger then so should a drink driver. Out of site, out of mind and the temption is gone.
    How about a 3 strikes and your crushed rule for the drink drivers aswell as the hoons just to make an example of them to others???