Help a n00by

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help a n00by

So this afternoon I tried to take some photos of the r/c cars doing jumps. While they turned out okay the car itself is blurry as I expected since it was moving rather fast. Had just left the camera on auto so was pretty much expecting it (was suprised they turned out as good as they did)...

Can someone please tell me the best settings (ISO, shutter speed etc) to use for photos like those below (fast moving). The camera (canon G5) has a million bloody settings so I know its my lack of skill rather then the camera itself.

As it is I am just pre-focusing on the ramp then clicking to take the photo when the car goes past. (yes I'm a noob when it comes to cameras). So what settings does everyone use to take photos of the bikes etc at waneroo or other fast moving objects?

cheers,

While Im at it, anyone know a good camera repair place? Think the light sensor in mine has stuffed up, if I point the camera into the sun at the moment the photos turn out pitch black (like completely just a black screen). Yet pointing away from the sun/bright sky everything is fine.

It has been ages since I've touched manual cameras... but your whites look over exposed and obviously not quick enough to get the car completely stationary.

My amateur recommendations are:

Up your ISO (400+)
    Open your aperture
    QUICK exposure

DSLR of film? (Can't be bothered searching for your camera)

If film, need high ISO also...

Comment

Up your ISO (400+)
      Open your aperture
      QUICK exposure
      [/b]
      just to clafify for mr. noob

iso= film speed (i.e. 100, 200, 400 etc)
      open aperture = lower number ie. 2, 5.6 ?
      quick exposure = 1/1500th of a second (i.e. how long the shutter is open for)

Comment

Other factors: the setting
        The setting - the above pics are overexposed 'cos the camera compensated for the poorly lit parts of the frame - under the trees etc