Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guitars

Hey,

Anyone here who plays guitar, electric or acoustic ?
    I've been thinking lately of perhaps getting myself an electric one and trying my hand at it, perhaps taking lessons (which I'll no doubt need!). Any experiences or advice that might assist ?
    Tips... things to look for when buying etc ?

I was considering maybe just getting a bit of a cheap 'set' (guitar/amp set), like for 200-500 dollars and using that as a start point.
    Main problem would be motivation to keep practicing etc, how have some of you overcome that to improve yourself and so fourth ?

Anyone self taught and what were you're experiences whilst learning ?

Erm

As always, there are choices. If you want to bash out a few chords through enough distortion to make it sound hard and hide your lack of ability, teenage style, go to a cashies and buy the cheapest piece of shit they have with a grungy distortion knob on the amp.

I bought a steel stringed Washburn acoustic and taught myself badly, hitting limits as a result. I need to unlearn and get some lessons. From a mate who plays semi-professionally, the following advice:

If you akshuly want to learn to play guitar properly, it's different.

Go get a nylon stringed acoustic. Get something reasonable but not over the top - around $400 should do it nicely. Find a decent teacher (sorry can't help, don't know any) and learn to play classical and Spanish/Flamenco.

Then buy a steel stringed acoustic, start on blues and jazz.

Then, if you decide you want to slum it and go electric (or Yngwie Malsteem is floating your boat) you will have the skill to make it sing.