Question for the programmers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for the programmers

I've been working on contract for a company for the last 5 years developing and then upgrading a custom piece of software for them. It's been working brillintly without any major hiccups for those 5 years. It's being decommissioned at the end of the year as it's being incorporated into their EIS system.

They're having a decommisioning party this Friday where , and this bit is for real, they are going to print out a copy of the programs logo, stick onto an old screen and then attack the screen with an axe.

The IT manager asked if I wantd to come along but I told him that I thought that the whole idea was kinda insulting. He told me I had no sense of humour.

Now my question is, am I right in feeling insulted or am I (sorry ladies) being a big girl about it all?
    Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill

If you get the attacker to stand close enough to the screen, they might just get a face full of glass...

I could understand this option if it didn't work or the 5 years was wasted... :?
    Aim high and consider yourself worthy of great things

Comment

I'd prolly get insulted. Its been a large chunk of your life and Im sure you have taken great pride in it.

Look on the bright side it worked and worked well

Comment

Dude that aint right....... I would say something.. non stop try to kill the decommisioning party.... people gotta show some respect .... credit is due where credit is due.... if the software was in action and live for 5 years then it sounds like the company relied on the software bigtime...aka "saving some ass"... times like these ya need a HR dept or a union :twisted:
        "Sanity is a madness put to good use"

Comment