Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Oregon Scientific helmet cam (with video!!11!)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oregon Scientific helmet cam (with video!!11!)

I bought an Oregon Scientific sport helmet cam, and took it for a run at about dusk last night:

CBF250 + Oregon Scientific helmet cam test run

This is a test run of my new Oregon Scientific helmet cam, at dusk. It's mounted on the front left indicator of my Honda CBF250. Apart from the high contrast areas (lit sky vs shadowed landscape), it does quite well. The film was taken at about 5:30pm in winter, so by the time I got back, it was quite dark.

Things to do:
    1) Daylight test
    2) Turn the gain on the mic down (or muffle it somehow)
    3) Find a less shaky mounting point

I'm a novice rider, so my technique needs work (in before teh "U SUCK"s), and yes, I AM squidding, due to the gravel and sand on the corners.

I've decided to leave the audio in, because the distortion makes the bike sound more beastly than it actually is. I've also edited out about 3 minutes of straight road, to get the video under 10 minutes.

Enjoy, or not, it's your choice.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lS242SCpfbc]YouTube - CBF250 + Oregon Scientific helmet cam test run[/ame]

I ordered and paid for the cam in mid march, and after 4 months of screwing around, Camera House decided they couldn't get it for me any more, so they apparently upgraded me to the next model for no extra charge. Hopefully, I can get some footage along the coastal tourist loop for you guys this weekend.
    Last edited by Magilla; 14-08-2009, 02:29 PM. Reason: Because I'm awesome
    '====
    //`
    -Magilla
    They observe my perambulations upon my gyroscopically-balanced personal transportation device, and I perceive at my core that they have thus concluded that I am Caucasian, and, while intelligent, I am also somewhat socially inept. - Peculiar Alfred
    Eligible to shadow R & R-E NOW