Was I ripped off? ( New radiator)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was I ripped off? ( New radiator)

Today my car radiator blew and I hastily called around until I got someone who could come out and fix it ( even though its Grand Final Day) He drove from Mt Helena to Craigie which is where I live.
    The car's a Ford Falcon Late 2002 XL AU Ute, 6 cylinder.
    It took the guy around 70 minutes to install it as the car was previously involved in an accident and the front end had been pushed in. I watched him the whole time and he certainly struggled somewhat.

Anyway he charged me $480 for the ADRAD radiator, 150 for labour and 60 for coolant.
    With the warranty, the policy is dated 2002. Don't know if I should be concerned about that?

Just wondering if I got totally shafted and if there's a way I can recoup some of my money if I did. I thought I would ask this question here as you lot seem to be very mechanically knowledgable. I'm not very good with cars at all :-)

Price isnt to bad considering the circumstances.

Warranty on what???

Comment

Warranty on the radiator. ( material and workmanship)

Comment

Still think price aint to bad...

Curious to know why your radiator leaked????

Comment

i'm suprised you found someone to come out and fix it at any price.....
          And no, i'm not joking
          Being an Australian is not an excuse for being dumb and racist.

Comment

GF day or not, If you have to rely on outsiders to do work for you'll always be shafted.
            Next time you get someone to do something for you watch and learn so you can do it yourself next time.
            But the price seems ok as I think I paid $180 for a new radiator for my EL a few years back. Though saved by fitting it myself.
            Jap Bike Show Presents for 2012:
            Blue Haze Ride II
            - Sunday 25th November 2012

March 2013 - 6th Jap Bike Show, Celebrating the "2 Stroke Era"

Details at: www.japbikeshow.com.au

Comment