SC1 Tire wear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SC1 Tire wear

After the tuning session on sunday I have a bit of a strange wear pattern on the front tire, right hand side.

The wear seems to continue all the way around and the tear can be up to a millimetre deep. I run warmers and 28psi cold.

Has anyone had this particular type of wear before?

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010116_small.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	94.0 KB
ID:	4925578

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010118_small.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	4925579
    DERP

looks to be rubber you've picked up, not tearing

but i'm no expert
    "I think she's kinda sweet...but she makes her living catching cum in her mouth and i'm sensing that's a problem with you"

Comment

You get the same wear I do, cos we're lapping at a slower pace we can get on the gas harder than the quick guys it heats the surface up more but not the whole carcass so the surface melts and cools and you get balls of rubber all over it. Well that's my understanding of it anyway.

Happens more on the right cos there's more right hand turns.

Comment

.. def not right.

When I use SC1's on the front I run 28-30PSI hot depending on track factors, & it works for me (63-64sec/lap). Your pace & technique will determine temp off the track. Suspension settings will also contribute a lot to wear patterns.

Check the pressure hot, just off track (not 10 mins after, straight away), see how it compares.

PM Marty Moose & get him to setup your suspension to suit you, he'll also advise on track pressures, etc. He used to race the same bike so knows them well.

Small amount of shekels for a great result, better bike to ride & cheaper to run as it's not chewing tyres.
        .. and thats Racer # 193 to y'all; my fabulous sponsors (who all do good shit) are: Graeme Fleming IT Consultants, Vision Image, Pacific Safety Wear, Excess Power Equipment, Pro Photo Booth