Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What type of tyres?

Hi Guys,
    I just acquired a Honda CBR 600RR track bike, it has Pirelli tyres on at the moment and came with an additional set of wets.
    Where is the best place to get tyres and what tyres do people suggest for the track days? I want to be racing next year, but for this year it will be practice... I have a set of digital tyre warmers which I am thinking will be ok with these pirelli's. If anyone can offer any advice I would be very appreciative as I am very new to this type of riding and previously only ran my road bike on the track with the standard road tyres.

Thanks in advance

Tara

Most of us these days are running Pirelli at the track, SC1 front compound (soft) and an SC2 rear, as it warms up, change the rear to an SC1. There are a few shops that have a deal with Pirelli and sell the race tyres for a pretty good price, highway Yamaha in midland is one, that's the one I use because its closest, but I am sure there will be one a bit closer to you. There is a list of the shops on here somewhere, one of us will link it later when we find it. They are also available on race days at the track, with a fitting service. Come up to the track on 27 Oct for the last state round, talk to a few riders and the Pirelli guys

Comment

Keep an eye on this thread as local racers sell their take offs -
      http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/foru...-trade-151792/

Comment

Pirelli is a very good choice, if for no other reason than most people use them, and it's going to be the easiest tyre to get advice on at the track.

a very cruicial thing with these type of tires is to avoid heat cycles. take the warmers off as late as possible before hitting the track, get the warmers back on as soon as you get back into the pits. (seriously: in the pit, rear stand, gloves off, front stand, warmers on, helmet off, unzip leathers, was my routine)