MA Track Guidelines Document ... Run Off Calculations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MA Track Guidelines Document ... Run Off Calculations

I'm preparing run off calculation diagrams in accordance with the graphs and formulae on pages 41 & 42 of the MA document. I'd recommend any interested rider print the first 42 pages (road racing section) for reference.

MA Track Guidelines

As some of you know I'm a Civil Engineer with the mathematical training to do this. In fact the work is simple. My understanding is MA employed a Mathematician or Physicist to develop the formulae for a layman like me to use.

The first thing I discovered is the Y-Axis on the Maximum Speed in Curves Graph on page 41 is incorrect. I've advised MA and they have yet to respond.

To audit my work I have co-opted a double degree Civil Engineer/Bachelor Surveying, Mechanical Engineer and a Geophysicist. Between the four of us we have the maths and physics skills.

I've completed the turn 7 run off diagram as required in clause 5.3.1 page 27. It's not looking good but I won't say anymore until it's been checked.

I need some maximum speed data from a 1000cc 57 second rider:

I require the maximum velocities prior to turns 1, 3, 6 & 7. I've sent a PM to Anthony McFadden with my email and number. If someone would advise him to call or email those numbers to me it would be appreciated.

Any other 57 second rider is welcome to supply me the data. For my turn 7 calculation I've used Vmax as 265km/hr. I understand that's the approximate velocity before deceleration.

If possible, post the speeds in this thread for convenience.

For interest I checked the turn 7 corner trajectory starting speed with my own data from last month for this 61 year old doing a 62.55 second lap on the 2010 GSXR750. The graph gave me 117km/hr and my data showed 120km/hr.

Once this work is completed and checked by my scientific peers I'll publish the diagrams in this thread.